Delete Record

Delete record actions are used to delete or recycle record(s) defined by a query.

Explanation

Delete record actions are used whenever a record should be deleted or recycled. Since there is no way records can be deleted or recycled through form interfaces alone, these actions are the only way to delete or recycle records. A deleted record is removed completely from the application's database and this operation cannot be reversed. A recycled record remains in the database and its active field is changed to reflect a recycled status. This means that it will not appear in queries on the record's table. Recycled records can be restored.

Actions can be attached to a delete record action on either the red global automation trigger or the yellow local trigger. Actions on the global trigger will run anytime a record is updated in this table throughout the application, so an evaluation is necessary to ensure that it's only triggered on delete or recycle operations. Actions on the local trigger will run during this delete record action only, so no evaluation is required. These triggers fire before the record(s) are deleted or recycled to ensure the data is still available for the actions to reference.

Example: Delete record actions are most often used on link fields in the mass action area of list forms. For instance, a builder might show a list of Account records and have a Delete button in the mass action area of the list. To do this, place a link field in the mass action area of a list. Then, edit the actions for the link field, and add a delete record action on the “Link is Clicked” trigger. Since the mass action area of a list inherits the context of each record in the list that was checked when the link was clicked, the query should be left inherited.

Settings

Query Record(s) to Delete or Recycle

Use the query builder to define which records to remove from the application.

Delete of Recycle Record(s)

Choose whether to delete or recycle the records found in the query above.

Disable associated Table Actions

Check this box to disable all actions associated with the table the record(s) getting deleted/recycled are in. Actions locally associated with this delete record action will still run.

Disable associated Relationship Actions

When records are deleted or recycled, any relationship records they may have are deleted or recycled as well (the same operation - delete or recycle - is performed on the relationship records as was performed on the record(s)). Check this box to disable all actions associated with any relationship record's relationship table getting deleted/recycled.

Describe this action

Useful as a comment, this description will overwrite the automatically generated description in the Action Manager.

Queue this action and children

When an action is queued, the subsequent actions continue to process without it. Meanwhile, the queued action and its children process separately. Queue actions that you don't want a user to wait for.

action type - delete records.txt · Last modified: 2016/09/14 14:19 (external edit)
Copyright WorkXpress, 2022